Fitness Quest — The Day Shit Got Real

This started on Thursday.

As a senior rank in the school, I’m asked to work with lower rank students. On Thursday, I happened to work with a newer student, maybe ten years old and half my weight. Obviously, I can’t do things at full strength. One of our exercises is the Kanshiwa Bunkai. When pairing off for this, we always take our turns as attacker and defender, and I always play attacker first. While doing the bunkai as the defender, Dan (my Sensei) interrupted to mention that he was proud to see me doing the kata to the best of my ability, that I wasn’t being lazy about it. Dan praised that and talked about it for a good minute or two, and I was waiting for the silent comma.

You know what I’m talking about. That pause before the rest of the statement. In Dan’s case it would have been kind and constructive. But it never came. He was just happy to see me setting a good example.

On Saturday, Dan took me aside for some one on one work, pointing out some needed improvements for my Sanchin and Seisan kata. At the end he talked about how well I was doing. Then he mentioned that he was going to be testing for Black Belt in November and that if I hustled, I should be able to take it.

Well, color me floored.

In five months I could be fulfilling a long unanswered dream. I could also get the crap beaten out of me, but that’s neither here nor there.

Right now I’ve got a belly still full from fried mac&cheese “fritters” ciopinno and beer, most likely the last such indulgence I’ll be enjoying until December. Training and diet have been fairly strict thus far, and I seen no reason to change that. In all honesty, I didn’t expect to lose 30 pounds in five months. I didn’t expect to recall the kata or renew the conditioning that had faded over a twelve year “leave of absence.” I figured it’d be another year before this opportunity would come.

On the other hand, it still might, but I’m not going to worry about that. I’m just going to step things up, train hard.

As far as I’m concerned, my time has come.

 

1 comment so far

  1. Nicky Patchythoe on

    [ Comment deleted for not being on-topic — MB ]


Leave a Reply

