40 Until 40…

When this post goes live, I will have exactly forty days remaining as a thirty something.

Honestly, I’m not sure how I expected to be handling this. What was I going to do? Freak out? Curl up in a ball and weep? Buy a new sports car and seek out the trophy date?

Well, I did get that new car, but a four door hatchback ain’t exactly “sporty.”

There’s no point in bemoaning what hasn’t happened. I’m not a man of regrets. So not everything in life has gone according to plan. I’m still single. I’m not a Ph.D. in math or Professor at a University. I’m not a New York Times Bestselling Author. But… so what? I have no regrets about what hasn’t happened in life.

Actually that’s not entirely true. I had one regret, and that was never reaching black belt in my old karate dojo, but that’s being remedied as we speak.

Instead I will turn my eyes to the future. I realize I’m reaching that “middle age” milestone. Last year, with Shawn’s passing, I became well aware of my own mortality. It’s one of the reasons why I’ve been working hard to get in shape. Despite that, I don’t think of the future as time I have left. That road leads to fear and worry, and since tomorrow’s never a guarantee anyway, why stress myself over it? Best to see the future as untapped potential, with dreams still before me.

I can look back at the things I have done and consider it a stepping stone for what’s to come. An eighteen year career in IT at the national and global enterprise levels? Nothing to sneeze at. A dual B.S. in Math and Computer Science, followed by an M.A. in writing? You can’t say I’m not diverse. Full speed ahead to becoming a black belt in a martial art? Yeah it took almost as long as my career if you count the hiatus, but I’m ready now for what I wasn’t in the right mind for way back when.

Yeah, it sounds like I’m boasting, but life’s been good to me so far, and I’m just getting started…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

